My Birthday

The birth of a Human Being is a time of celebration, every year after birth is progression, an infant gradually developing into an adult. Every year after birth is an extra step on the journey to discovering who you truly are. Some people see their birthday as a time of celebration, others see their birthday as a step closer to the grave. I see my birthday as a time and period of reflection. I look back at this past year, I see what I have and what I don’t have. I see what I have achieved and what I still need to achieve. This past year I met the love of my life and I couldn’t be happier. I am one lucky man. This is the year we edge ever so closer to our hopes and dreams. I am very fortunate to have great friends and a family who all support me wholeheartedly and unconditionally when I am feeling down. They pick me back up with their patience, generosity, kindness and by being true to themselves and those around them. All I need to do this year is achieve some personal goals that will guide me ever so closer to my true calling in life.

Written by The Perspicacious Outcast (John Paul Harrington)
First written: 20th February 2014
Rewritten and partially changed: 20th February 2017
Although this is an old piece I still feel the same way about my birthday.

Leave a Reply

