This Shift Is A Sentence

 

I’m not working a nine to five, I am serving a two to ten,

This shift is a sentence I cannot finish it without my pen,

I miss my lady, my girlfriend turned fiancée my little hen,

I cannot pretend, it seems my life has stopped at a dead end,

 

The car has stopped moving, it is no longer driving,

I’m not content with saving money and surviving,

This Poet has dreams, I’m not a robot I’m a Human Being,

I can’t fall asleep even though I am tired of the same old routine,

 

The convicts have more freedoms and rights than I do,

I plot an escape, the universe is something I can fly through,

I don’t want to ever work a nine to five, I hate serving this two ’til ten,

This shift is a sentence and I must finish it with my pen.

 

 

 

Picture taken by: John Paul Harrington

Poem written by: The Perspicacious Outcast (John Paul Harrington)

Written During my Work Break; 17th October 2016

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

