Spaghetti Western

IMG_0015

 

Am I not worth at least a penny, a nickel or a dime?

Time is money, coins sparkle and shine,

I’m one quarter through time,

Some spend it clenching A Fistful Of Dollars,

Plans to extend bankroll, scripting a crime,

I clench a fistful of pens, I clinch the paper,

Scribbling down rambunctious rhymes,

By design I don’t do it For A Few Dollars More,

I do it out of love, the clock ticks and chimes,

I’m not an amateur or a veteran,

I’m just a young ambitious poet approaching his prime,

 

The Good, The Bad And The Ugly,

Resembles my poems, the everyday struggle and this Planet,

A Spaghetti Western, Picture a Mysterious, rebellious gun slinger,

Trigger finger ready to squeeze, freeze, God damn it,

Violence isn’t the agenda, but this pen has turned into a pistol,

Perpetrators panic, duck and dive, dramatic,

Words of wisdom are my ammunition,

At first glance I could be perceived as deranged, insane, franetic and manic,

Please understand, I’m the protagonist with the pen in his hand,

Aiming to shoot knowledge into your brains, I’m trying to save this planet,

Before it sinks like the titanic,

Understand it,

My words are fresh and healthy like a bowl of ripe pomegranates,

 

I’m cool like Clint Eastwood, full of mystery, chewing on cigars,

Ambiguous, equivocal and bizarre,

With a soul stronger than solid steel prison bars,

Life is a spiritual journey, I’ve traveled far without driving a car,

Travel by foot, on foot, we are what we are,

The World is full of darkness, I’m guided by the stars,

 

I’m cool like Clint Eastwood, full of mystery, chewing on cigars,

Ambiguous, equivocal and bizarre,

With a soul stronger than solid steel prison bars,

Life is a spiritual journey, I’ve traveled far without driving a car,

Travel by foot, on foot, we are what we are,

The World is full of darkness, I’m guided by the stars,

 

Laying down the tracks ,

The man with the harmonica reminds me of death,

Laying people to rest,

Once Upon A Time In The West, One man’s quest,

Soul and flesh, my heart still beats inside my chest,

I strive to be the best,

I fall asleep at night, dream, mind takes flight,

Memories of the past, I wonder if my future is bright?

Look passed the greed, arguments and fights,

Fly high like a kite,

Life’s about friendship and love,

It was embodied in A Fistful Of Dynamite,

 

The clock ticks, true friends are closer than the hands of time,

We live and we fantasise every now and then,

Once Upon A Time In America, childhood memories,

The pain of poverty, the tragedy and downfall of men,

Innocence, friendship and love lost,

Punishing one’s self for big mistakes,

Flashbacks good and bad hit the brain in an opium den,

Some live by the pipe, die by the pipe,

Some live by the gun, die by the gun,

I live by my pen, and I will die by my pen,

Forever has no end,

My poetry touches and soothes the soul,

Like the music composed by Ennio Morricone,

My words tell a story,

Failure and glory,

Capturing a magical moment like the camera that was in the hands of Sergio leone,

 

I’m cool like Clint Eastwood, full of mystery, chewing on cigars,

Ambiguous, equivocal and bizarre,

With a soul stronger than solid steel prison bars,

Life is a spiritual journey, I’ve traveled far without driving a car,

Travel by foot, on foot, we are what we are,

The World is full of darkness, I’m guided by the stars.

 

 

Written by The Perspicacious Outcast(John Paul Harrington)

Originally written: Monday 2nd May 2016

Inspired by Sergio Leone’s movies and Ennis Morricone’s score to those movies.

Picture found on google of Clint Eastwood from the Dollars Trilogy.

 

Leave a Reply

