What Really Matters?

IMG_0087

Lips move, many mouths chatter,

They say I’m as mad as a Hatter,

I wear lots of hats, I move so fast things clatter,

My dress sense is getting madder,

Receiving praise, I’m flattered,

Truly I am, but people talk foolishly, indeed they smatter,

People have a lot to say, many just natter,

Everybody dreams, but like mirrors dreams can shatter,

Then the nightmare begins and so called friends scatter,

Deceitful, dangerous in disguise, lies hide like fish under batter,

Rich man’s pockets get fatter, it is all just physical matter,

It doesn’t necessarily matter, we are all just food on a platter,

If we don’t realise that it is the soul that really matters,

Make a choice, materialism or the spirit, I prefer the latter,

Only one lives on after you are gone, the other is left in tatters,

I’m on a spiritual journey, I can hear the plashing patter…

Of rain hit my window, like words hit my brain and scatter…

Around until I write them down, my pen is my friend,

I avoid ratters,

I climb the spiritual ladders, many fall and splatter.

 

Written by: The Perspicacious Outcast (John Paul Harrington)

Originally inked: Thursday 28th April 2016

Picture found on google and is also on Led Zeppelin Stairway to Heaven song on YouTube.

 

Leave a Reply

