Bereavement

IMG_0090

I’ve been to Hell and back,

Believe me I’ve been burnt and charred,

It’s like Charizard has breathed fire onto me,

Recently I have let down my guard,

I’m bereft of hope, I cannot cope,

Bereavement leaves one emotionally and physically scarred,

I miss my Father, I miss conversing with him,

I miss having a drink with him in the backyard,

I miss him dearly, all I have left are memories,

Photographs, letters, and old birthday and Christmas cards,

Dealing with a huge loss wears down the heart,

Trying not to fall apart, life is cruel and hard,

Over time the feeling gets worse,

But like they say after every death there comes a birth,

Spirits of the dead are like Angels flying through the Universe,

While I’m stranded, imprisoned on Planet Earth,

 

I look directly into the mirror and I see my Father’s face,

I look out of my window at night and I stare into space,

Is my Father free? A star shining down on me?

Bereavement is heart wrenching, my pain is clear for you to see,

 

I look directly into the mirror and I see my Father’s face,

I look out of my window at night and I stare into space,

Is my Father free? A star shining down on me?

Bereavement is heart wrenching, death brings so much misery,

 

Sometimes when I am writing,

It’s as if I am speaking through dead friends,

Sometimes it feels like my illustrious life,

Is at a dead end,

We all lose a loved one, such is life,

But the impact it has is too difficult to comprehend,

Emotions are hard to control, like a Mercedes Benz,

With a flat tire trying to drive around the bend,

Mend my broken heart,

How does one deal with a friend or a loved one departing?

I write about my Father, to keep his spirit alive,

Another poem for my dear Father and Friend Martin,

I will remember him until the end of time,

His soul shines and lives on in my rhymes,

If love is a crime,

Then I’m…

A criminal, Heaven is a hard place to find,

But our love ones found it and arrived on time.

 

Written by: Perspicacious Outcast (John Paul Harrington)

Originally Written: Friday April 29th 2016

Image found on google/Bereavement counselling website.

 

Leave a Reply

