Live To See Tomorrow

IMG_0150

I used to wallow in self-pity, now my soul leads and my heart follows,

Associated with truth and poetry like the Greek God Apollo,

Determined to make it on my own, my mind refuses to beg or borrow,

A minuscule lifetime, Will I live to See tomorrow?

Twist a cap off a bottle, Is the World concave and hollow?

Will I make it here? Or Will I forever sip and swallow,

my pride and sorrow? I don’t hide behind a mask like Zorro,

I look back on my past, I live for today, but Will I die by tomorrow?

 

Last year was a hard one, I can’t believe my Father’s gone,

I can hear him say; “John, stay strong, life must go on”,

He would want me to fulfill my potential with a pen or a pencil,

I’m experimental with my mental, success and happiness is essential,

Tensile stress is getting to me, I’m fragile and gentle,

I need to gain strength to be parental,

I intend to be influential,

I hope my children decorate my name with a stencil,

Life is too short, I need to stop time wasting and lay the foundation,

Build my own Manchu Picchu, my own Pyramid, building blocks to education,

My safe haven is my work station, my hidden passion is a revelation,

My truest thoughts turn into conversation, as I gaze at the constellations,

I’m one of a kind, a rare breed,

Still I bleed, death travels faster than light speed,

Indeed I need to Succeed, keep doing good deeds,

Start planting seeds, then my Soul’s freed,

My poetry is a garden, my words are flowers blossoming for the  whole World to see,

They will keep on growing until all the little boys and girls are free,

From the shackles and chains of poverty, so they can climb up the tree,

Be who they want to be, make history, a clear reminder of me,

 

I used to wallow in self-pity, now my soul leads and my heart follows,

Associated with truth and poetry like the Greek God Apollo,

Determined to make it on my own, my mind refuses to beg and borrow,

A minuscule lifetime, Will I live to see tomorrow?

Twist a cap off the bottle, Is the World concave and hollow?

Will I make it here? Or Will I forever sip and swallow,

my pride and sorrow? I don’t hide behind a mask like Zorro,

I look back on my past, I also live for today, but Will I die by tomorrow?

 

My poetry is a garden, my words are flowers blossoming for the  whole World to see,

They will keep on growing until all the little soul boys and little soul girls are free,

From the shackles and chains of poverty, so they can climb up the tree,

Be who they want to be, make history, a clear reminder of me,

My philosophy is be the student and the teacher, Plato and Socrates,

Listen to others, study, read books, cover every page, from the contents page to the index and glossaries,

Everyday is a lesson and a blessing,

Learn new things, stop guessing, Life’s about progression,

Always ask questions,

Question everything, truth and wisdom are rare and key possessions,

Children of the World God bless them, my people I hope to cure your depression,

My suggestion is for you to do something you enjoy, vent your sadness and aggression,

Turn a negative into a positive, turn it into a profession, make an impression,

Your emotions don’t suppress them, I don’t sequester my emotions, I express them,

Expression is a good thing, through poetry I hope to end my own depression,

World poverty and oppression,

I expose my inner emotions, poems are my confession,

My poetry is a reflection…

Of my Soul, I can’t lose control, even though life can take its toll,

I remember that I will never be complete and whole until I completely achieve my goals.

 

Written by: Perspicacious Outcast (John Paul Harrington)

Originally written: Thursday 12th May 2016

Image of Machu Picchu found on google.

Leave a Reply

